Final Cut Pro X Learnings

Screen Shot 2013-05-01 at 05.28.22 (2)

I made it clear I wanted to use new software this project and I have with CeltX, Apples Compressor software, Adapter which is another video converter/compressor, Memory Clean (every 40 mins); but Instead of using Premiere Pro, which is something I would have liked to have dabbled with, I furthered my knowledge deeper into FCPX. Theres alot of haters but I’m a fan and it works for me.

A few new practices have been picked up this time round. Every time I do a project I seem to be getting better and better, which is just fantastic.

Screen Shot 2013-04-30 at 17.09.56 (2)

 

Making compound clips isn’t new to me, but this time round its been used a lot more to get video and audio channels re-joined, making the screen creating less channels ti be used, keeping the working space tidier and more efficient, such as keeping audio and video synced up as its a real pain in the butt when they become separated or moved in any shape or form.

Screen Shot 2013-04-30 at 17.07.11

 

Screen Shot 2013-04-30 at 17.07.11 (2)

 

The above two images show how the files were organised by colour coding, going through the rainbow in rough chronological order. This is then corresponding when importing into FCPX, therefore theres no extra, un-necessary importing, as the process effectively is duplicating all your data, something I realised after the last cloud computing video.

IMG_1235

 

For security, and the first time, I worked the project from an external HDD, the one you see above in its throne like docking station. Yes its amazing, yes you should get one for yourself @ about £12. All the original raw footage was also backed up on this, just in case. Currently the raw video and audio sits at 136 gb. Transferring and management has been painful, but approached and deployed successfully.

My poor not too old iMac is really starting to age 😦 A late Dual Core 3.06 ghz 2010 model, with upgraded 14 gb ram is now packing not much of a punch. To combat constant freezing, general twitchiness and slow response I have had to restart FCPX every 40 mins, the actual computer every 2 hours. The Ram Cleaner app has also been a huge help, thats been ran every 30 minutes. On top of all this I also put my fans manually on full blast as things were getting very hot, very quickly (see below). With all this tweaking and cufuful the iMac managed to stay at just before the critical tipping point most the time. I need a studio upgrade, a PC type upgrade.

Screen Shot 2013-05-01 at 05.28.22

Leave a Reply

