BVE 2013

IMG_1073 IMG_1074 IMG_1072 IMG_1071 IMG_1067 IMG_1068 IMG_1069 IMG_1070 IMG_1066 IMG_1065 IMG_1063 IMG_1062 IMG_1058 IMG_1059 IMG_1060 IMG_1061 IMG_1057 IMG_1056 IMG_1055 IMG_1054 IMG_1050 IMG_1051 IMG_1052 IMG_1053 IMG_1049 IMG_1048 IMG_1047 IMG_1046 IMG_1042 IMG_1043 IMG_1044 IMG_1045 IMG_1041

 

Managed to get a couple of the London crew to come BVE with me. Never been to an EXPO before  but seen many on TV and the internets, very exciting stuff. First off, I felt like a real filmaker. I had my little pass on with my name and company details. People displaying kit wanted to talk to me, everyone was in it for the love of filming and mad equipment. Even though me and my pals were more on the amateur side, we felt at home.

First off I did come across as a bit of a noob at points. People were asking me technical questions I simply didn’t have an answer to. This only happened twice, but it shouldn’t of happened at all. This is something I really need to work on. I need to know my 5D like the back of my hand. I dont want to be caught out with those types of questions in an interview.

SteadyCam gear is something I really need to research and look into. Full rigs for Big cameras  as well as smaller ones for my own DSLR. Theres an image above of one particular steady rig with a business card at the bottom of it, that also works as a monopod thats right up my street.

On a more fantastical level, the helicopter rigs were out of this world. On a More manageable level, pictures of the white one for the GoPro, is something attainable as we have a couple of go pros in the house. All the helis have also motivated me to try and get my brother on it. He has always been good with remote control anything. Hes just getting into film making and I can see him being a real G at heli filming.

Even though I want rid of all my Apple products asap, there were a few manufacturers including Rode and Manfrotto that had some really interesting add-ons for the iPhone. Pictured above is the Rode mic that clips onto the iPhone, with one of representatives saying it was better than the H4N zoom mic (!!?).

Overal it was a great experience. Getting hands on with kit I have only seen on the web. Finding out exactly what kit I need for my own rig and most importantly, it was super inspiring.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

