The closure of Game & Gamestation

 

I didn’t think it would, but the closure of Game and Gamestation has actually effected myself and gaming peers quite a bit. I dont have a local-ish shop that sells games anymore. The remaining shops dont have new stock and will probably close their final doors anytime soon.

Around 300 of the UK’s 609 GAME and Gamestation outlets have ceased trading, with the possibility of more to follow if a buyer is not found quickly. By the end of March there had been  2,104 job losses.

The whole fiasco is down to lower price and availability of games online. The head of Game has been moaning about it for years now, saying that they could not beat online download prices from such services as Steam.

With Blockbuster going the same way I am finding it hard to walk in somewhere to buy the newest hard copy of software. If I was a PC gamer I wouldn’t have a problem.

All I can hope for is that someone buys them out in the near future. I also hope that next gen consoles have more substantial game libraries on their store offering full downloads on release. My internet connection is high speed so I can easily download lots of data v quickly; but because of poor internet connections in the southern states of the US xbox have confirmed they will be putting a blu-ray drive in their next console. Personally I have mixed opinions about this…Im glad Mircosoft have manned up and worked something out with Sony, but it would have been nice to see download only from their store as it would have pushed the progression of console gaming.

PLEASE SOMEONE BUY OUT GAME AND PLAESE PUT LOADS OF RAM IN NEXT GEN CONSOLES, if you don’t Im going PC.

Leave a Reply

