The Splatting

Even though it is quite funny, we couldn’t just leave this crude image as our final shot. We had envisioned Dave falling and splatting. I had also completely forgotten about this shot until now (midnight). It was a bit of a mad rush but I found a Video Co-pilot tutorial on a meteor hitting the ground and exploding. I thought this would be an easy fix to the splatting, just swapping the meteor for Dave. After 5 minutes into the tutorial, the expert opened up the Particular plugin for After Effects, something I don’t have. I worried for a bit, but then realised I still could use the stock sequence of the ground exploding.

I Used a colour balance to make the exploding earth red, and now looks like a body disintegrating as Dave hits the ground. It looks a lil rough but is a great replacement in regards to our remaining time.

Leave a Reply

