Introduction to Transmedia Hybridity

We had our first introductory session with our new tutor Gary last week as a part of our contextual studies. He bought about the subject of Transmedia Hybridity. Below I have simply copy and pasted Garry’s first page of his powerpoint presentation. I could try and describe it in my own words, but I would probably bastardise it into something completely different; I’d prefer to have it in its purest form on my blog….

Transmedia storytelling
Storytelling across multiple forms of media with each element making distinctive contributions to an understanding of the story world. By using different media formats, transmedia can create “entrypoints” through which narratives become immersive story worlds.

Media hybridity
In the second part of the 1990s, moving-image culture went through a fundamental transformation. Previously separate media—live-action cinematography, graphics, still photography, animation, 3D computer animation, and typography—started to be combined in numerous ways. By the end of the decade, the “pure” moving-image media became an exception and hybrid media became the norm.

As I am currently 24, transmedia Hybridity is a part of my core if I know it or not. The birth of the internet and rise in computer games have solidly led a certain type of media down many different paths. Trans media is as old as humans,narratives are played in different media as they are invented and used by different societies. The story of Ulysses in the Odyssey is probably the oldest example, given to us by Garry. A resent example is Lord of the rings; originally a book, made into one of the biggest blockbuster trilogies, and has a constant flow of video game interpretations that are released yearly, not to mention all the other merchandise…top-trumps, monopoly etc…

Garry asked us the question…. what is it that makes each media specific? Media specificity is a term that helps us determine the traits between technologies….film, photography, and video games…but how is photography different from a painting? maybe this can be solved by looking at the relationship between theory and practice, or exploring how different medias overlap.

Honestly some of what Garry was discussing with us went over my head. I get the general gist, but I need to get into some the finer details tomorrow before I blog anymore on the subject. Im pretty sure theres other people in the same boat though.

One thing that did stick out from the session is how discussed the pro’s and con’s of streaming video. Is it a bad thing that we now watch what we want when we want? As I don’t watch terrestrial tv anymore, I will never be flicking through channels and come across a must see documentary accidentally. Now I watch stuff I already know about, or what has just been released on the net. Is there any TV guides for the internet?

Leave a Reply

